Clients often ask about ways to prevent losing their license after being ticketed for speeding. Here are some tips regarding your driving license.
- If you receive a speeding ticket driving over 85 miles per hour on any road or highway or 75 miles per hour on any two lane road or highway, you should contact an attorney before paying the ticket. This is known as a super speeder ticket and while it is a misdeanor, it can have far reaching ramifications on you as a driver.
- Do not ignore traffic tickets, even if they are out of state fines. States regularly communicate with one another and an unpaid ticket in another state can result in a suspension of your license in Georgia.
- A suspended license is not the same as a permanent revocation. If your license is suspended, contact an attorney so you can begin working on ways to restore your license immediately so you do not lose it for good.
- Driving without automobile insurance in Georgia will cost you money and may cost your license. Do not chance it.
- Do not drive if you think your license has been suspended or revoked. This will only make getting your license reinstated a much harder task. You can check on your license status by reaching out to the Georgia DMV online here.
A few other tips are a bit more obvious but we will list them here because we feel remiss if we do not.
- Do not drink and drive. Call a friend, take a taxi or get an Uber. Not only is driving while under the influence illegal, it’s deadly.
- Be sure to get your license renewed BEFORE the deadline. If you are stopped and your license is expired, you effectively have no valid license.
- Be sure to have a valid proof of auto insurance with you when you drive. If is not the police officer’s job to look for it; it is your job to provide it for him or her when they request it.
If you or someone you love has been charged with a crime, contact us. Attorney David Crawford has the experience and knows exactly where to start.